All Stories

Watson and O’Brien Top Panthers Athletes for 2016-17

Apr 6, 2017

Two students winning an award with the college president

Two students winning an award with the college president

(NORTH BAY, ONT.) – Canadore College hosted its 48th Annual Athletics Awards Banquet tonight in celebration of excellent sportsmanship.


Elite student athletes, coaches, college employees and Canadore Alumni attended the event highlighting the 2016-2017 season.


“To be a Panther, you have to excel under pressure, thrive on competitiveness and strive for excellence,” said Linda Turcotte, Canadore College’s Athletic Director. “Each and every one of our athletes is extremely dedicated to their sport and their studies, which can be very demanding. Tonight is all about rewarding and recognizing these remarkable achievements.”


2016-2017 Canadore College Panthers Award Winners


Male Athlete of the Year (Ian London Memorial Scholarship Award)

Tanner O’Brien, Men’s Varsity Volleyball

OCAA Athlete of the Week – January 24, 2017

Men’s Volleyball Most Valuable Player


Female Athlete of the Year (Ian London Memorial Scholarship Award)

Riley Watson, Women’s Varsity Volleyball

Women’s Volleyball Player of the Year


Club Athlete of the Year

Morgan Black, Women’s Club Indoor Soccer


Kris Clement Memorial Award

Quinn Harding, Men’s Club Ice Hockey

Men’s Ice Hockey Most Valuable Player

Men’s Ice Hockey Coaches Award


Men’s Club Ice Hockey

Most Valuable Player – Quinn Harding

Most Improved Player – Rory McGrath

Coach’s Award  - Quinn Harding


Men’s Club Indoor Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Nick Budhoo

Most Improved Player – Fernando Martinez

Coach’s Award for Dedication and Leadership – Malcolm Wood


Women’s Club Indoor Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Morgan Black

Most Improved Player – Holly Partington-Riopelle

Coach’s Award – Sonya Bergin


Men’s Varsity Basketball

Most Valuable Player – Tarez Hepburn

Most Improved Player – Kemel Archer

Coach’s Award – Santo Dak & Sharmarke Mohamed


Men’s Varsity Volleyball

Most Valuable Player – Tanner O’Brien

Most Improved Player – Patrick Hebert

Rookie of the Year – Drake Stevenson


Women’s Varsity Volleyball

Team Player of the Year – Riley Watson

Lady Panther of the Year – Riley Watson

Coach’s Award – Riley Watson


Dean McCubbin Memorial Panther Athletic Council – Staff of the Year

Shawn Jones


“Our athletes are recognized across Ontario and throughout Canada,” said Turcotte. “This is a testament to their efforts and the unwavering support of our coaches, trainers and the community at large, for which we thank you,” said Turcotte.


Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) All-Academic Awards

James Heslinga

Kaitlyn Jackson

Emma Vanderlee


Canadore Panther Academic Excellence Awards

Sonya Bergin-Mental Health and Addiction Worker

Josh Carrier-Digital Cinematography

Ackel Cupid-Strength and Sport Conditioning

James Heslinga-Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Kaitlin Jackson-Pre-Health Sciences

Alissa Kendrew-Pre-Health Sciences

Rachel-Elisabeth Robertson-Mental Health and Addiction Worker

Emily Rygus-Strength and Sport Conditioning

Emma Vanderlee-Bachelor of Science in Nursing


GET YOUR CLAWS OUT to support your Panthers. For further updates please visit our website at

Canadore Panthers Logo

#Alumni #Athletics, Rec, Wellness #Student Life